By Wendy Sarubbi | March 13, 2015 3:46 pm

Fourteen College of Medicine M.D. students and one faculty member were inducted Thursday into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national honor society of medical students, which recognizes scholarship, integrity and community service. The installation banquet was the third for the young medical school’s Zeta Chapter.

Excellence was the theme of the night as speakers encouraged the medical school’s top students not to be satisfied with their current achievements – and to set the bar even higher to care for their future patients, the community and beyond.

“Remember, failure isn’t the enemy. The enemy is not even trying because you are content in your excellence,” said Dr. Deborah German, vice president for medical affairs and dean. “Take the gifts and opportunities you’ve been given and use them to achieve your ever evolving dreams. Becoming the Good Doctor doesn’t end on the last day of medical school. I wish for you a life where you have the courage to pursue your own dreams and the opportunity to nourish the dreams of others.”

Each year, AOA members pick faculty honorees. The 2015 inductee is Dr. James Sanders, assistant professor of neurosurgery, described by students as a role model of professionalism, compassion, a passion for teaching and leadership.

“I am honored to be included with this incredible group of future physicians,” Dr. Sanders said after the ceremony. “I am blessed to be among them.”

Dr. Michael Bellew, assistant professor of neurosurgery, told students that this year’s graduating class had special meaning for him – and his medical education career. As first-year students, the class of 2015’s Anatomy Lab module had inspired Dr. Bellew to expand his volunteer efforts at the medical school and eventually become a faculty member in addition to maintaining a private practice. “Thank you for the privilege of learning medicine beside you for the past four years,” he said.

AOA Co-Presidents Amy Iarrobino and Teresa Martin-Carreras led the induction and explained the group’s accomplishments over the past year, ranging from community service efforts like the student-run free KNIGHTS Clinic to educational programs they developed for younger medical students. Both presidents will enter National Match Day on March 20 to learn where they will do their residency training after graduating in May. Iarrobino hopes to do an internal medicine residency; Martin-Carreras is hoping to do her graduate medical education in radiology. Co-Presidents for next year are current third-year students Angela Crotty and Elissa Engel.

This year’s student AOA Inductees are:

Class of 2015

Cathleen Courtney

Allyson Deziel

Galal Elsayed

Suzanna Lewis

Heather McKently

Rabia Zafar

Class of 2016

Kyle Burton

David Cantu

Angela Crotty

Jennifer Druce

Elissa Engel

Christin Giordano

David Griffin

Christian Restrepo

Post Tags

Related Stories