Diane Davis Davey is Professor and Associate Dean Emerita and a part-time pathologist at the Orlando Veterans Affairs Medical Center with specialty expertise in cytopathology and hematopathology. She was the Founding Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education (GME) and Founding Designated Institutional Official (DIO) for the UCF/HCA Healthcare GME Consortium . She was instrumental in building new residency programs in Florida. Dr. Davey is a Past-President of the College of Medicine Faculty Council, served as Interim Chair of the Clinical Sciences Department in 2015-16, and served on the COM Enterprise. Dr. Davey teaches in several medical student modules including the S1 Hematology/Oncology module.

Prior to coming to UCF as founding faculty in 2007, Dr. Davey was Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Univ. of Kentucky. She also directed the cytopathology fellowship program and the cytology and bone marrow laboratories at the University of Kentucky. Diane received her M.D. at Washington University and did her pathology residency at Indiana University and the University of Iowa. She completed a hematopathology fellowship at the University of Iowa. She is board-certified in anatomic and clinical pathology, hematology and cytopathology by the American Board of Pathology.

Diane remains active on committees of the American Society of Cytopathology and College of American Pathologists and is a board member for the Florida Society of Pathologists.  She is a Past-President and Trustee of the American Board of Pathology, the certifying board for pathologists, and she served as President of the American Society of Cytopathology in 2001-2. She was a moderator for the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Bethesda 2001 Workshop for Cervical Cytology terminology and has been a society representative for guidelines for cervical cancer screening and management. She has been an advisor for both the FDA and the NCI and serves on editorial boards for three journals. Her research efforts have focused on cervical cytology and quality improvement efforts in laboratories, including uniform reporting terminology, new cytology laboratory technologies, laboratory and patient management guidelines, and also on educational and competency assessment.


  1. Nguyen LN, Crothers BA, Davey DD, Natale KR, Nunez AL, Harcom T, Mody DR, Barkan GA, Souers FJ, Tabatabai, Booth CN. Current state of cytologic-histologic correlation implementation for North American and international laboratories: Results of the College of American Pathologists Committee Laboratory Practices in Gynecologic Cytology Survey. Arch Pathol Lab Med 2023:147:52-61. PMID: 35271691
  2. Med Educ. 2023 Feb 28. doi: 10.1111/medu.15046. PMID: 36855783
  4. Performance of specific morphologic features in distinguishing low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (LSIL) from high-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (HSIL) in borderline cases: a College of American Pathologists Cytopathology Committee multi-observer study. J Am Soc Cytopathol 2022;11:102-113. PMID: 34903496.
  5. Nayar R, Chhieng DC, Crothers B, Darragh TM, Davey DD, Eisenhut C, Goulart R, Huang EC, Tabbara SO. Moving forward—the 2019 ASCCP Risk-Based Management Consensus Guidelines for Abnormal Cervical Cancer Screening Tests and Cancer Precursors and beyond: implications and suggestions for laboratories. J Am Soc. Cytopathol. 2020;9:291-303.  PMID: 32565297 doi: 10.1016/j.jasc.2020.05.002.
  6. St. Onge JE, Davey D, Levine R, Littles A. Speaking with one voice in Florida:  A GME statewide collaboration. J Grad Med Educ 2020;12:135-7 (April). PMID: 32322341 DOI:

Davey DD. Impact of laboratory work-up of lymphoma guidelines on cytopathology practices. J Am Soc Cytopathol 2021;10;338-340. PMID: 33384266doi: 10.1016/j.jasc.2020.12.001. 


  • 2007 Papanicolaou Award, American Society of Cytopathology
  • 2008 American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology Award of Merit
  • 2011 Elected to President, American Board of Pathology
  • 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award, College of American Pathologists
  • 2016  Elected Life Trustee, American Board of Pathology
  • 2022   Univ. of South Dakota Sanford School of Medicine Distinguished Alumna Award

Education & Specialties

  • B.S. Cornell University
  • B.S. Medicine, University of South Dakota
  • M.D. Washington University, St. Louis
  • Residency in Pathology Indiana University Medical Center
  • Residency in Pathology University of Iowa
  • Fellowship in Hematopathology, University of Iowa


  • Pathology (Cytopathology and Hematopathology)

Research Interests

  • Cervical cytology
  • Quality improvement efforts in cytology
  • New cytology laboratory technologies and patient management guidelines
  • Graduate medical education

No recent media. Please check back soon.