By Wendy Sarubbi | March 18, 2011 1:39 pm

UCF College of Medicine M.D. students held their second annual end-of-year banquet March 5 at the Ballroom at Church Street. Festivities included dinner, dancing, cocktail attire and awards – all in the name of Hygeia, the daughter of the goddess of health and cleanliness.

In praising the event, Dr. Marcy Verduin, associate dean for students, raised a glass and toasted the new traditions the college and its students have started in just the first year at a new medical education building at Lake Nona. From developing an honor code to soccer games on the Tavistock Green, “you have made this college your own,” she said.

A silent auction raised money for the College of Medicine Student Council and included artwork by medical school faculty members and students, autographed White Coat Ceremony photos of each class, and gift certificates for restaurants, dog grooming, theater and golf.

Faculty and staff awards were also presented:

M1 awards:

Award for Encouragement — “for support and helpfulness in transitioning through the M1 year.” Dr. Mohammed Khalil Runner up – Dr. Maria Cannarozzi

Award for Inspiration — “for serving as a role model and mentor whom students hope to emulate in their professional careers.” Dr. Jose Borrero
Runner up – Dr. James Sanders

M2 awards:

Award for Innovation — “for originality and progressive thinking in the development and delivery of medical curricula.” Dr. Garrett Riggs
Runner up – Dr. Michael Lee

Award for Guidance –“for creativity and leadership in navigating students through the second year.” Dr. Juan Cendan
Runner up – Dr. Lori Boardman

Faculty & Staff Award:

Everyday Hero Award — “for being an instrumental member in the management and everyday operations of the College of Medicine.” Mr. Dale Voorhees, Educational Technology
Runner up – Mr. Ron Knappenberger, Educational Technology

Executive Student Council Award:

Award of Appreciation — “in appreciation for significant contributions to the development of the College of Medicine as a volunteer faculty member.” Dr. Charles Price

COM Person of the Year — “for devotion and contribution to the development of the College of Medicine.” Dr. Deborah German.
Runner up – Dr. Jonathan Kibble

Post Tags

Related Stories