By Wendy Sarubbi | May 21, 2024 10:19 am

Five College of Medicine faculty members were honored recently with UCF awards.  

“We are so proud of these exceptional faculty who are unleashing  potential through their extraordinary teaching and research,” said Dr. Jane Gibson, associate dean for faculty affairs.

Faculty honorees (from top left) Ken Teter, Martin Klapheke, Debopam Chakrabarti, Lindsay Taliaferro and Robert Borgon.

Here are the honorees:

UCF Research Incentive Awardrecognizes outstanding research, scholarly or creative activity that advances the body of knowledge in a particular field.

  • Dr. Debopam Chakrabarti is an infectious disease expert who focuses his research on developing better ways to treat malaria, including FDA-approved cancer drugs. Dr. Chakrabarti has been awarded nearly $10 million in funding, primarily from the National Institutes of Health
  • Dr. Lindsay Taliaferro, a population health researcher,principally studies suicide in adolescents and young adults who identify as sexual and/or gender minorities. Over the past five years, she has received $4.8 million in research grants from the NIH and the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.

Scholarship Of Teaching and Learning Awardrecognizes discovery, reflection and using evidence-based methods to research effective teaching and student learning.

  • Dr. Ken Teter of the Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences is focused on using undergraduate research to engage students in the life sciences and to improve transfer student retention and graduation rates in these fields. 

Teaching Incentive Program Award rewards teaching productivity and excellence.

  • Dr. Robert Borgon of the Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences was honored for his exceptional number of student credit hours taught (10,284), and his accessibility to students. “Dr. Borgon has exhibited an unwavering commitment to instruction,” according to his nomination.
  • Dr. Martin Klapheke, professor of psychiatry was honored for his “innovative methods, including live and simulated patient demonstrations, that actively engage students in the learning process” and his leadership in creating the M.D. program’s pain management curriculum.
Post Tags

Related Stories