About Diane D. Davey, M.D.


Diane Davis Davey is Professor of Pathology, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, and Designated Institutional Official (DIO). She is also a part-time pathologist at the Orlando Veterans Affairs Medical Center with specialty expertise in cytopathology and hematopathology. She chairs the Graduate Medical Education Committee and is involved with efforts to build new residency programs in Central Florida. Dr. Davey is a Past-President of the College of Medicine Faculty Council, served as Interim Chair of the Clinical Sciences Department in 2015-16, and is a member of COM Enterprise. Dr. Davey teaches in several medical student modules including the S1 Hematology/Oncology module.

Prior to coming to Florida in late 2007, Dr. Davey was Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Univ. of Kentucky. She also directed the cytopathology fellowship program and the cytology and bone marrow laboratories at the University of Kentucky. Diane received her M.D. at Washington University and did her pathology residency at Indiana University and the University of Iowa. She completed a hematopathology fellowship at the University of Iowa. She is board-certified in anatomic and clinical pathology, hematology and cytopathology by the American Board of Pathology.

Diane is a current member and past-chair of the College of American Pathologists Cytopathology Committee. She is a member of the American Society of Cytopathology (ASC) Awards Committee and an ASC representative to the Cytopathology Education and Technology Consortium. She is a Past-President and Trustee of the American Board of Pathology, the certifying board for pathologists, and a past member of the Pathology Residency Review Committee for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. She was President of the American Society of Cytopathology in 2001-2, and she served as a moderator for the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Bethesda 2001 Workshop for Cervical Cytology terminology. She has served on several committees of the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology, and has worked on task forces to develop management guidelines for cervical cancer screening.

She has been an advisor for both the FDA and the NCI, and serves on editorial boards for three journals. Her research efforts have focused on cervical cytology and quality improvement efforts in laboratories, including uniform reporting terminology, new cytology laboratory technologies, and laboratory and patient management guidelines, and also on educational and competency assessment.


Huh WK, Ault K, Chelmow D, Davey DD, Goulart RA, et al. Use of primary high risk papillomavirus testing for cervical cancer screening: interim clinical guidance. Gynecol Oncol 2015; 136:178-182 (Feb) (PMID 25579107). Published simultaneously in: J Lower Genit Tract Dis 2015;19:91-96 (Apr) (PMID:25574659), Obstet Gynecol 2015;125:330-337 (Feb) (PMID: 25569009)

Birdsong G, Davey DD. “Specimen Adequacy”. In: Edited by Nayar R and Wilbur DC. The Bethesda System for Reporting Cervical Cytology. Definitions, Criteria, and Explanatory Notes. Third Edition. Springer International Publishing, Switzerland, 2015.

Crothers BA, Ghofrani M, Zhao C,  Dodd LG, Goodrich K, Husain M, Kurtycz DFI, Russell DK, Shen RZ, Souers RJ, Staats PN, Tabatabai ZL, Witt BL, Davey DD. Low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion or high-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion? Concordance between the interpretation of low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion and high-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion in Papanicolaou tests: results from the College of American Pathologists Interlaboratory PAP Education Program. Arch Pathol Lab Med 2019;143:81-85 (Jan.) PMID: 30133317.

Tabatabai ZL, Auger M, Souers RJ, Teot L, Davey DD. Performance characteristics of cerebrospinal fluid cytology: An analysis of responses from the College of American Pathologists Interlaboratory Nongynecologic Cytopathology Education Program. Arch Pathol Lab Med 2018;142:833-837 (July). PMID: 269624076.

Davey DD, Goulart RA, Nayar R. An advocacy victory: final USPSTF cervical cancer screening recommendations revised to include cotesting option. J Am Soc Cytopathol 2018;7:333-335 (Nov).

Tabatabai ZL, Nayar R, Souers RJ, Crothers BA, Davey DD. Performance characteristics of body fluid cytology: Analysis of 344,380 responses from the College of American Pathologists Interlaboratory Comparison Program in Nongynecologic Cytopathology. Arch Pathol Lab Med 2018;142:53-58 (Jan). PMID: 29048220

Zhao C, Crothers BA, Tabatabai L, Li Z, Ghofrani M, Souers RJ, Husain M, Fan F, Shen R, Ocal IT, Booth CN, Goodrich K, Russell D, Davey DD. False-negative interpretation of adenocarcinoma in situ in the College of American Pathologists gynecology PAP education program. Arch Pathol Lab Med 2017:140:666-670 (May). PMID: 28301226

Zayat V, Davey DD. Team Based Learning is Effective in Teaching Appropriate Utilization of Hemostasis Laboratory Tests using Storyline Case Authoring Software. MedEd PORTAL (Association of American Medical Colleges). 2018;14:10704. https://doi.org/10.15766/mep_2374-8265.10704

Davey DD, Thrall MJ: Chapter entitled “Automation and other Techniques in Cytopathology.” In Clinical Cytopathology and Aspiration Biopsy, Edited by Ramzy I, Mody DR, Laurcirica R. New York, McGraw Hill Education, 2017 [December].

Nassar A, Voytek TM, Davey DD, Mody, DR, Fan F. “Quality Management in Cytopathology.”  In Quality Management in Anatomic Pathology: Strategies for Assessment, Improvement, and Assurance.  Edited by Zhai QJ and Siegal GP. Northfield, IL, College of American Pathologists (CAP Press), 2017.


  • 1999-2000 Women of Achievement of the A.B. Chandler Medical Center
  • 2001 William L. Kuehn, Ph.D., Outstanding Communicator Award, College of American Pathologists
  • 2002 Elected as Trustee, American Board of Pathology
  • 2005-2015 Named to Best Doctors of America
  • 2007 University of Iowa Department of Pathology Distinguished Achievement Award
  • 2007 Papanicolaou Award, American Society of Cytopathology
  • 2008 American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology Award of Merit
  • 2011 Elected to President, American Board of Pathology
  • 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award, College of American Pathologists
  • 2016  Elected Life Trustee, American Board of Pathology